Carbonfund.org keeps sending pop-up ads to my computer (despite my pop-up blocker being turned on) telling me how evil carbon dioxide is and how it needs to be eliminated. Check out their website, it’s very funny!
Anyway, I clicked through the ad to see exactly what they were peddling. I knew it was going to be about carbon reduction and probably have something to do with buying carbon credits (given that the name of the site has the word “fund” in it). When I got there I went to the “About” page and this is what I saw:
“Our Mission: toward a ZeroCarbon™ world”
Two problems right off the bat… First: They trademarked ZeroCarbon, which reads to me like Meow Mix trademarking the word MEOW! Second: There is only one way to create a ZeroCarbon world, and that is to eliminate all sentient life. I couldn’t stand it, so I wrote them this email from the “Contact” page:
“Can I please, please, please give you money to offset my evil breath? I am a human and I exhale a carbon that needs to be eliminated. I need assurance from you before I donate that you will pledge to wipe out the entire human race, as we are the cause of global warming/climate change. Otherwise we will never make enough of a difference to correct the harm we have caused to mother earth… and the polar bears.”
That’s all the absurdity I can handle for today… Just thought you guys might like to know about this crazy organization. Feel free to email them at www.carbonfund.org, and make sure you check out the page “How offsets work” for a good laugh.
-Common Sense Guy

February 23, 2010 at 9:22 am
I think you’re mistaken because I’ve been a donor for some time and Carbonfund.org does -not- send pop-up ads. Also, they created their logo long before Obama even came on the national scene. They were founded in 2003. If you’ve heard of trademarks, you can trademark something and not have it mean literally. Carbonfund.org is a great nonprofit organization, so I hope you stop nitpicking. It’d be more productive to tackle climate change together.